My Work in Hickory Hill

For my final journalism class at the University of Memphis, I worked on a project in the neighborhood of Hickory Hill. Hickory Hill was annexed by the city of Memphis in 1998, which caused a variety of problems for the area, from demographic, business, and crime, the issues never really seemed to stop. Then in 2008 a tornado hit, nearly destroying Hickory Ridge Mall, the center point for businesses and families to gather.

Throughout the semester I focused on Hickory Ridge Mall as a whole, as my work and research was done primarily there. I interviewed mall walkers, small business owners, general managers, and local residents to really get the story. What I found is captured in the documentary style video below.

Leave a Reply

