Saying goodbye to bread…for 40 days

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything. No, I don’t blame writers block. At least that’s not what I would classify it as. I’ve had a lack of ideas. Its like Italy has stolen all of the good, mad-crazy ideas and words from me and I have to fly there to get them back.

So that’s what I’m doing.

Like a fire burning inside of me, I must put words to a page for there are stories cooking inside of my brain. I have stories that need to be told. I have stories that need to be eaten up by the blank white page that glows across from me. So I’m taking my mind back to all the good inspiration that Europe gave me and I’m returning to writing.

“What are you most passionate about?” my friend Emee asked me. Without hesitation I responded with one word. “Writing.” (She’s working on a photography series about passionate people and wanted to figure out what it was that gave me full purpose in my life.) And that’s when it all hit me- I haven’t written anything in awhile. My fingers miss rapidly hitting the keyboard and losing myself into a story.

So with that I stare at the blinking cursor on my computer screen, with a glass of red wine next to me, and a picture of my recent trip to Athens, Greece on the other side of my desk. And I’m finally sitting down to write about what I came to write about, the season of Lent.

This may come as a shock, but Lent has been something that I’ve wanted to write about for a little while. And while Lent is a time of fasting, it is also a season of giving. This year I wanted to incorporate both into my life. I have given up Diet Coke in the past few years as well as sweets. This year I have given up bread. And let me tell you, it’s not easy. I can’t eat pizza, or sandwiches, or even fajitas (tortillas count). Giving up bread during this Lenten season might be one the hardest things that I have had to endure. It has constantly challenged me by forcing me to think differently when it comes to meals.  It helps me to be appreciative of what I do have to eat. But with giving up bread for the next 40 days, I have also decided to give. This year, I am giving more to my friends.

In college, a free meal goes a long way. We are all struggling to make it by until we get to the next paycheck. And during my time in Europe, every free meal was so appreciated that it actually could bring me to tears. Money went fast, and a free meal was like Christmas morning. I will always carry the moment of walking into my dingy hostel in Naples, Italy after a full day of backpacking, to a hot meal from our hostel owner. We were two broke college girls traveling through the Mediterranean on nothing but a prayer to end our travels with and a few pennies in our back pocket. That day in Naples, I learned the importance of cooking someone a meal.

A meal says a lot, and I want to be the one to cook for the people that I love saying, “I made this for you and tonight you don’t have to worry.” And while there is no set goal for how many people I plan to cook for, I do hope to indulge in good conversation over the meals that I make, and I do hope to lessen someone’s stress by providing them a meal as well as a genuine friendship.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Florence, Italy- Americano and cornetto

 

Leave a Reply

